Skip to Main Content

Member Meeting at Hawk Field: 10/30 Dinner 5:30, Meeting 6:30pm

No Omahawks Auction This Fall...Shooting for Next Spring.

Check out the Champions Club Aviation Night 2020 Video here

George Poullos won the raffle drawing and will donate the ride to Make-A-Wish!!  Thank you George!

Make-A-Wish is the winner!  Thank you for your support through the P-51 Mustang Ride Raffle.  We have raised just over $4,600 to donate to Make-A-Wish!

About Us

Omahawks RC Club
Welcome to the Omahawks® RC Inc. web site, we hope you browse around the site.  If you’re new to the Hobby or a veteran looking for a place to land, please take your time to browse around the Omahawks® web site to see what the Club has to offer.  If you want to learn more about this hobby, the links might be of interest to you.

The Omahawks® is the largest club of radio control Hobbyist’s in and around the local Metropolitan area.  In a partnership with the City Parks and Recreation Department the Omahawks® manages one of the premier flying fields within the country.  Hawk Field is located in the beautiful Standing Bear Lake Recreation Area entrance on 138th and Fort Street in Omaha, Nebraska.

No matter what your interests in Radio Control Flying the Omahawks® offers a wide variety of events. The Omahawks® Event calendar lists the many activities and events club and its membership sponsor. Besides the events to participate in the Omahawks® offers an excellent training program to help you learn to fly.  The training program is free to both club members and guests starting early April running to the ending of September.  Training starts at 06:00 PM ending around dusk. So come out to watch or get involved.  It’s an excellent way to be introduced to a rewarding hobby and gives you the opportunity to meet people with similar interests.  The club is also family oriented and encourages family participation, what a great way to enjoy some good family time. Use the "Contact Us" tab to express an interest in attending training night.

We look forward to seeing at the Field, until then have a safe and enjoyable flying experience.

Make-A-Wish Foundation

We support Make-A-Wish (the flag ship of support), the Boy Scouts, weekly training night and youth training.  We have been recognized by the Make a Wish foundation as a catalyst for other organizations to also support them.  Omahawks members can proudly say we have supported the Make- A-Wish organization for over 38 years and have contributed a total of $90,000!  Every year, we have held a yearly Labor Day Model Air Show so that 100% of the proceeds can be funneled back to the Make-A-Wish foundation. Many members have dedicated long hours in planning and execution of this event over the years and can take pride in helping young children enjoy a special wish come true!

Gold Leader Clubs Are:

  1. Clubs must have been chartered by AMA for a minimum of five years.
  2. Club membership must be open to all AMA members and not limited to a certain number.
  3. Clubs must develop and post Safety and Operational Rules at their flying sites.
  4. Clubs must file a copy of Safety and Operational Rules at AMA Headquarters.
  5. A club’s flying field must have separate areas for fliers and spectators, clearly marked as such.
  6. The AMA Safety Code must be posted and visible at the club field.



Each year the Omahawks elect Officers and Board Members to play an integral part of making this club what it is today. The following list represents the presidents of each year since the Omahawks was established.







Rick Sessions

Rick Sessions

Rick Sessions

Casey Vohnout

2016 Mikey Furrow
2015 Mikey Furrow
2014 Steve Earl / Mikey Furrow
2013 Bob Wheeler
2012 Bob Wheeler
2011 Steve Culver
2010 E.J. Murphy
2009 E.J. Murphy
2008 E.J. Murphy
2007 Steve Culver
2006 Steve Culver
2005 Brad Shaink
2004 Claude Weimer
2003 Ron Williams
2002 Ron Williams
2001 Ward Neesen
2000 Ward Neesen
1999 Larry Brown
1998 John Feneck
1997 Roger Bordd
1996 Dan Walz
1995 Skip Brown
1994 Steve Peck
1993 Tom Egbert
1992 Rusty Dose
1991 John Johnson
1990 Steve Eveans
1989 Fred Wilke
1988 Fred Wilke
1987 Ronald VanOeveren
1986 Ronald VanOeveren
1985 Allen Wilkinson
1984 Skip Brown
1983 Olie Olson
1982 Harold Abrahamson
1981 Gary Ross
1980 Steve Peck
1979 Steve Peck
1978 Bob Hickson
1977 Jim Albin
1976 Dick Greenberg
1975 Dick Ross
1974 Larry Botkin
1973 Larry Quigley
1972 Ralph Brown
1971 Olie Olson
1970 Bob Hess
1969 Chuck Leitch
1968 Chuck Leitch
1967 Ray Dehardt
1966 Chuck Leitch
1965 Tom Mossman
1964 Bill Wendt
1963 Howard Kofoed
1962 Lynn Montgomery
1961 Ray Valgora
1960 Don Woods
1959 Ken Oliver
1958 Lynn Montgomery
1957 Tom Mossman
1956 Don Huldt
1955 Leon Kresl
1954 Paul Ennis
1953 Paul Ennis
This website is powered by DualRates